Breakfast Pizza for Dinner Inspired by Pasta Carbonara (w/ Bacon <3)

I’m tired, yo!
〉〉 Tools, ingredients, and the inspiration behind this whimsical little number coming to you live Tuesday Eve ❤

Psyche! It’s Tuesday afternoon.

So one of my boyfriends guilty pleasures (despite having a girlfriend who cooks erraryday) is Papa John’s Pizza. The first time he told me this my inner food snob sneered and walked away. The person I show the world smiled and said “yeah, they’re not bad.” I felt like I’d betrayed my tribe.

A few weeks later I had him over for dinner and a movie with the intention of helping him discover truly well made pizza (i.e. to set him straight). The movie was The Black Cauldron, the pizza was some boutique-y local shit. I honestly don’t remember. What I remember is his face at the end of the movie, how much I enjoyed talking and laughing with him, and how I’d painfully listened to him debate the truly great thing about Papa John’s pizza;

  1. It’s consistency
  2. The garlic sauce (truth)

Meanwhile, I continued to turn my internal nose up. I waved my white flag “agree to disagree..” I thought.

Here we are a year later and I actually prefer Papa John’s pizza to others! It is consistent. And since we only order it every so often, it’s a kind of special occasion for us when it happens (usually when I’m working late or all weekend ;-))

Well after a recent Papa’s splurge I wanted to challenge myself to making an artisan pizza at home that was both consistent and unique. I wanted to do it with primarily ingredients I already had on hand and I didn’t want to fuss with lots of prep and cook time (normally when I make pizza at home I’m making my own dough, roasting various veggies, rendering fats from meats, shredding cheeses, and making Basic Fresh Tomato Sauce — which is worth every ounce of time when you have it– but yeah, I go hard). So…

I started by using fresh take and bake dough from our local market rather than making my own. Our local grocer is fantastic. Their house brand products are reliable and use fresh, local ingredients. This dough was basically Semolina flour, salt, and extra virgin olive oil.

I bought some shredded mozzarella and made my way to the check out with only two of the components I needed to make my pizza pie. The anticipation of what the hell I was going to do had me tapping my toes as I waited in line.

When I got home I placed the dough and cheese on the shelf in the fridge and took a peek at what I had. Bacon, eggs, bell peppers, green onion, walla walla onions, garlic, kefir, coconut milk and chilies.

Took a peak in the freezer. Peas, grass-fed butter, sausage, chicken carcusses.

Hmmm. Bacon, eggs, and cheese. Italian. Carbonara! Carbonara is, in my mind, the quintessential silken italian pasta dish. Unlike alfredo, carbonara relies on pasta water, parmesan, and egg to create the luxurious sauce rather than heavy cream. In the version I make (using the recipe above as a guideline) I add frozen peas, chopped green onion, and fresh parsley to cut the richness of the dish. The taste it leaves on your palette is a beautiful foil of flavor. Clean yet buttery. Fresh yet creamy.

IMG_4424

 

〉〉〉∴〈〈〈

With inspiration in mind I googled Carbonara Pizza and this is what I found:

With a point of reference in mind, my pizza came to life ❤

IMG_4517

〈〈 Bacon and eggs makes everything better 〉〉

Tools:

Sautee pan

Cutting board

Chefs knife

2 bowls

Baking sheet

Work space to dress pizza

Ingredients:

For the sauce:

Store bought take and bake pizza dough, brought to room temperature.

8 slices thick cut nitrate free bacon

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 onion, diced

1 clove of garlic, minced

salt

red chile flakes

1 tsp paprika

For topping:

Shredded mozzarella

chopped bacon

3 pastured eggs, at room temperature

chopped green onion

  1. Preheat oven according to doughs baking instructions
  2. Roll your dough out on a floured surface. It should roll out to the size of the cookie sheet you’re going to use. Place on cooking sheet.
  3. Cook bacon in a pan on medium heat, turning occasionally, until extra crispy.
  4. remove bacon and drain on paper towels.
  5. Place diced peppers and onions in bacon fat. Season with salt, chile, and paprika. Cook until softened, about 10 minutes. Stir in garlic and cook additional 4 minutes.
  6. Remove from heat and transfer contents into a bowl.
  7. Chop the bacon into small pieces
  8. With a brush, brush the seasoned oil from the peppers and onions all over the dough, to the edges.
  9. Spoon the peppers and onions into the center of the dough and spread outwards.
  10. Top with 1/2 the chopped bacon
  11. Top with half the cheese (as much or as little as you like)
  12. Top with remaining bacon
  13. Finish with cheese
  14. Bake according to the directions on the dough within 4 minutes of done time
  15. Remove from oven and crack 3 eggs onto pizza
  16. Return to oven and bake until eggs are set
  17. Remove from oven and season eggs with salt and pepper, parmesan if you have it.
  18. Garnish with chopped green onions and serve with your favorite hot sauce ❤

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Wellbeing ❤

Leave a Reply

